Must Love Brussels

Image

Next up is a lunch or a side type of dish. It has recently become my favvvvvorite thing to cook up real quick for lunch. It’s easy and the title is kind of true kind of not. I would recommend being a “liker” of brussel sprouts BUT (semi big but) my hubs has never been a fan and he actually reallly liked these when I cooked them up as a side dish (lighter version sans chicken sausage) the other night. So you never know?

Ingredients:

  • 12-14 brussel sprouts (I like to keep some frozen bags on hand)
  • 1 chicken sausage link (my favorite right now is All Natural Al Fresco “sweet apple”…they also have a good spinach feta. They come in a package of 4. I just found reallllly good flavor in these. Not a sausage fan? The dish still tastes good without!)
  • 2 strips of bacon (Cut or break into pieces. May sound gross but I get the pre-cooked bacon. It cuts down so much time and is pretty low in calories. I just tear it up into little bits)
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 – 1 tbsp minced garlic (the more the better in my opinion. Already forewarned I was a garlic lover)

Step One: slice up the chicken sausage link. (the sweet apple flavor is seriously so good, it adds this rich sweetness)

photo

Step Two: Throw the chicken sausage in your frying pan, heat on low with the torn or chopped up pre-cooked bacon (or if you prefer regular non-pre cooked and want to fry some up real quick separately go for it)

photo-1

Step Three: While your sausage and bacon’s a cookin….defrost your brussel sprouts (if necessary). Takes 2 min. in my microwave.

photo-3

Step Four: Chop and peal the brussels. I’m the ultimate fan of cooking the brussel’s leaves/petals/whatever they’re called. My friend Teela and I have debated which is better, whole, in half or leaves. For this dish I suggest leaves! But up to you of course. Cut the end stem piece off and then the leaves should magically kind of fall off when you start “peeling” them. It’s easy when they’re a little warm from the defrosting.

photo-5photo-6

Step Five: Make sure and check on your chicken sausage and bacon bits. Once they’re browning/gettin golden remove from heat and place in a small bowl.

photo-7

Step 6: It’s that time. Get out your olive oil, balsamic vinegar and garlic. Put proper measurement of each into your frying pan.   (1/2 tbsp, 1 tbsp, 1 tbsp)

photo-10photo-11

Step Seven: Throw your brussels into the mix and stir them up real nice. Till they darken, are a little more cooked, etc. to your liking

photo-12photo-14  

Step Eight: Throw your brussels into your bowl with the chicken sausage and bits of bacon and voilà!

You’ve got yourself a lovely little meal. I don’t know why I like it so much? But I do!

photo-15photo-16

Leave a Reply

