Meatballzz (Stroganoff)

Never made them before. A little harder than I expected, but not too bad. Disclaimer: I was SO hungry by the time they were done I started chowing down before I remembered to snap a pic of the finished product! So yeah, the photos in general aren’t spectacular this round cause I was trying to hurry it on up.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, minced
  • 1-2 tbsp garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup minced parsley
  • 1 lb 93% lean beef (I used ground turkey)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup breadcrumbs
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 cups reduced sodium beef stock
  • 2 oz light cream cheese
  • 1 package of egg noodles to your liking

The recipe I went off of also listed 1 celery stalk minced and 1/2 tsp allspice. But I didn’t have celery on hand and I simply forgot to add the allspice, oops. Still tasted juuuust fine. 

Step 1:

Chop up your onion. Put 1 tsp of olive oil into a pan and sauté onions with your 1-2 tbsp of minced garlic. Sauté for about 4-5 minutes.

photo-7 

Step Two:

Add in your 1/4 cup minced parsley, stir around and cook for a few more minutes. Then let cool. 
photo-9photo-10
Step Three:

In a large bowl combine your beef or turkey, egg, the garlic/parsley/onion mixture, 1/4 c. breadcrumbs, salt, pepper and 1/2 tsp of allspice if you have it (remember it!). Mix it all up well with your hands. Don’t be shy. 

photo-11photo-12

Form little meatballs. This should create about 20 meatballs give or take. The original recipe I followed got technical saying to make them about 1/8 of a cup each (fill 1/4 cup out and divide in half to form 1 meatball). I just eyed it.

photo-14

Step Four:

Once your meatballs are formed and ready to go, pour your 2 cups of beef broth into pan and bring to boil. I used a little more than 2 cups (cause in the end you’ll use what’s left for your gravy/sauce). Once boiling, reduce heat to medium-low and carefully drop those ballz in. Cover and let cook for about 20-30 min.  or until done all the way through.

photo-13photo-15

photo-16

Step Five:

When you’re meatballs are about half way done cooking, maybe with like 1o min. left throw your noodles into a pot and boil them up nice and soft. I usually grab the cheapo stuff, but the noodles along with the beef broth were the 2 items I forgot at store previously and my house is right by TJ’s so I grabbed these bad boys. They were good, but I should’ve gotten the regular flavor I think as opposed to the lemon pepper. Hubs agreed.

photo

Step Six:

Once meatballs look done…

photo-17

(I cut into one to check) remove them from pan and you’re “supposed” to strain the broth that’s left. I didn’t strain it and just kept it as is (there wasn’t that much meat particles in it). You could either pour the broth into a blender and add your 2 oz. of cream cheese to whip it up smooth like before going back to pan, or I just kept broth in the pan and added the cream cheese in right then and there. I also added a little more broth cause mine had reduced down quite a bit.

Let it melt down, constantly stirring. I added a tiny bit of milk and a tiny bit of flour just to thicken it up more than it was thickening on it’s own.

photo-18

Once your gravy sauce is donezo and thickened up… put those soft egg noodles in a bowl, plop the meatballs on top and throw some gravy on. Ok ok like I forewarned…not that “pretty”, but “prettttty” good. Semi labor intensive but not that much. Now you see it…now you don’t! Yumm-o.

photo-19photo-21

Leave a Reply

