Chicken Pesto Bakezz

This was realllllly easy and tasted good. I whipped up 2 of them and made some really good Trader Joe’s boxed pasta on the side (a gal pal introduced me to it and I’m officially obsessed). The chicken bake isn’t bad on the nutrition scale either according to Skinnytaste

Ingredients:

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • salt and fresh pepper to taste
  • 4 tsp Pesto
  • 1 medium tomato, sliced thin
  • 3 tbsp shredded reduced fat mozzarella cheese (I used a diff shredded cheese cause I didn’t realize I was out of mozzarella!)
  • 2 tsp grated parmesan cheese

Step One:

Preheat your oven to 400° F. Defrost your chicken breasts if needed, then pound them out (also if needed). I just really like it when they’re thin and flat. Plus the chicken recipes I go off of usually call for you to just slice the chicken breast in half but for some reason I’m not at all skilled in doing that? So I just pound ’em.

photo-27

Step Two:

Line a baking sheet with a sheet of foil or parchment paper and lay your chicken breasts on it. Spread 1-2 tsp of pesto over each piece and bake for about 15 min. 

photo-26

Step Three: 

Once chicken has baked all the way through, take it out and place sliced tomatoes on top of chicken. Then sprinkle on about 1.5 tbsp of mozzarella cheese and 1 tsp of parmesan cheese onto each piece. Then place back into oven for about 3-5 more minutes or until cheese is all melted.

photo-24photo-23

Step Four:

Take out your chicken and and plate those bad boys. Turned out pretty tasty.  Easy too right?

photo-22photo-9 copy

3 thoughts on “Chicken Pesto Bakezz

  1. […] Chicken Pesto Bakezz (hungryhungryhickok.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Madison says:

    I know what I am having for dinner tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

