Shrimp Parmigiana Herozz w/ Cauliflower Puree

Here’s a 2 parter. And to be totally honest they really don’t go with each other? But I had the ingredients and just really wanted to finally use my cauliflower before it went bad so I just made it in the same night as a side! We’ll start with that….suuuuper easy and I thought was so yummy. Def a good substitute for mash potatoes if trying to go light!

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium head Cauliflower, cut up into florets
  • 1 or 2 tbsp of minced garlic
  • 1/3 cup 1% Buttermilk
  • 1 tbsp light butter
  • salt and pepper

My grandma in law just gave me a food processor…..BEST kitchen tool EVER. Also another reason why I wanted to just make this puree already!

Step One:

Boil a pot of water and put your cut up florets of cauliflower in. Boil until soft. Then drain and dump them into your food processor if you have one. (If you don’t you could put them in a bowl and use a hand blender or a reg blender. That’s what the original recipe calls for anyways!)

photo-56

Step Two:

Pour in the rest of your ingredients and blend it all up!

photo-57

Boom….cauliflower puree. It was really good. A sliiiightly different texture than my potatoes I love oh SO much…but definitely definitely can compete and be a fantastic substitute! With the garlic and creaminess of a little butter and buttermilk it adds all the simple flavor you need!

Now on to the real entrée!

Shrimp Parmigiana Heros

Ingredients:

For the shrimp:

I don’t recommend this and the original recipe doesn’t call for it, but I had limited time so I wanted to cut down on the preparation and cooking! I bought pre-cooked frozen shrimp. Eek! I know it’d be way better with the original raw jumbo shrimp the original recipe calls for. But my directions will be for how I just went about in frying up the pre-cooked ones.

  • 14 thawed pre-cooked shrimp (or 14 jumbo raw shrimp, peeled and deveined)
  • 1/4 cup egg substitute (egg beaters or I used better’n eggs, love this stuff)
  • 6 tbsp whole wheat Italian seasoned breadcrumbs
  • 2 tbsp panko ( I HAD this and forgot to throw in lol oops)
  • 2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese
  • cooking spray

For the sandwich:

  • 1/2 cup your fav. tomato sauce. I used some marinara sauce
  • 1 cup (4 oz) shredded part skim mozzarella cheese
  • 12 oz French bread, sliced into 4 pieces

Step One:

Pour your egg substitute into one bowl and put your breadcrumbs, panko and parmesan cheese into a separate bowl. Then heat up a few tablespoons of olive oil in a frying pan. Dip your thawed out shrimp one by one in the egg and then into the breadcrumb mixture and then throw in your frying pan. Fry those suckers up. I was SO out of my element….I had never done this before and since I had gone south in getting pre-cooked shrimp I was kinda just makin it up a little as I went!

photo-58

Step Two:

Once your shrimp are all golden and friend up (doesn’t take long) place them on a paper towel and set aside. Cut up your french bread to your liking and put your shrimp on one piece.

photo-60

Step Three:

Pour a few tablespoons of your tomato sauce on top of the shrimp. And then sprinkle some mozzarella cheese sauce on top.

photo-61photo-62

Step Four:

Turn your oven onto low broil and place your sandwhiches on a baking sheet and pop them in. They’ll broil up quick so keep an eye on them! Just leave in until your cheese is melted.

photo-64photo-63

Take them out and there you go. Pretty tasty! Different from anything I’d ever made before but good! Hubs approved, always nice. Had some cauliflower puree on the side and was good to go! Could make it for a weekend lunch or a week night dinner like I did.

photo-65

Leave a Reply

