Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffinzz

These turned out gooood. I copied a “healthy” version here. But I had to make a few minor adjustments due to working with what I already had! They were moist and real tasty and I think still pretty healthy considering no flour, real eggs or sugar was used. Annnd I added a litttttle bit of peanut butter. Couldn’t resist!

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2.5 cups old fashion oats
  • 1 cup plain low fat greek yogurt (I used buttermilk cause I didn’t have yogurt!)
  • 2 eggs (I used my handy dandy better’n eggs)
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Step One:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees and spray your muffin tin with non-sticking cooking spray or line them. Place your oats in the food processor and pulse a few times to grind them up for about 10 seconds. (If you don’t have processor then you could probably leave them whole and it won’t make too much difference)

photo-67photo-68

Step Two:

Add your remaining ingredients (2 eggs or egg substitute, 1 cup plain greek yogurt OR milk OR buttermilk, 1/2 cup of honey, 2 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp vanilla and 2 ripe bananas chopped up). Don’t add chocolate chips until after this blending step.

photo-69photo-70

Step Three:

Pour your batter into a bowl and fold in your chocolate chips. Then pour your batter into your muffin tin. Should make between 12-18 muffins if you fill each one 3/4 of the way full.

photo-71photo-72

Step Four:

Put in oven and bake for about 15-18 minutes. Orig recipe said 18-20 and I did 18 and they came out pretty golden brown so if I did it again I’d do a little less time. But none the less…..yummmmm. Just the right amount of moistness and subtle sweetness. I’ll def make again.

photo-73

 

Leave a Reply

