Banana Peanut Butter Filled Cupcakezz

These…..were pretty much amazing. If you’re a banana and peanut butter fan. To die for. They weren’t too hard either!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine salt
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 large ripe bananas

 

Step One:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Place cupcake liners into a muffin tin. Peel and mash your bananas up in a bowl. Looks appetizing huh? Ha they make all the difference!

Image

Step Two:

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

Image

Step Three:

In a large bowl, beat together the butter and sugar. Next, add the sour cream and vanilla and mix. Slowly beat in eggs one at a time. Mix dry ingredients in until well combined. Add the bananas and mix in. (Can you say VINTAGE to the mixer I’m using?! lol it’s my mom’s and i’m pretty sure she’s had it a few decades. Still works like a charm! Also it only had one attachment, whoops, forgot the other one at her house, oh well it still worked just fine. Time to buy my own now.)

photo-98photo-93

photo-94photo-96

Step Four:

Fill each liner 3/4 of the way full. Bake until a toothpick near the center comes out clean and the cupcakes are springy, around 18-20 minutes. Remove and cool.

photo-97photo-101

Peanut Butter Filling:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter (really important that it’s creamy I think)
  • 3 tbs unsalted butter
  • 2/3 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
Step One:
In a bowl mix all the ingredients together. My mixture came out a little more firm than I had anticipated? Not sure why. I followed directions on original recipe! But my peanut butter wasn’t specifically “creamy” so maybe that’s why?? None the less I used it and it still tasted great. Just was a little more hard to get into the cupcakes smoothly! I had some bags and some frosting tips so I used those to insert the peanut butter into the cupcakes. If you don’t have those items then just manually cut out a hole and get that peanut butter in any way you want :).
photo-100photo-102
Step Two:
Frost those suckers. I didn’t feel like making frosting and the original recipe didn’t call for homemade either so I just used some store bought. I chose butter cream…it was a good fit for the banana and peanut butter flavors.

Yummmm I wanted to eat them all. Three days later and I almost have! The little bit of peanut butter in the center was just right and I experimented with the amount of frosting…dabbing just a little on top instead of all over was the right amount was the perfect amount of sweetness.

photo-105photo-104      
                                     photo-106
Leave a Reply

