Crab Cakezz

This was definitely a first. I was inspired by some phenomenal crab cakes I shared with my babeska when we went out to dinner for our 1 year Anniversary (woot woot). These definitely weren’t as good haha but I enjoyed the process and they turned out way better than I thought! I mean they were good…just not as good as professional crab cakes I’ll admit that. Found this great and easy recipe on All Recipes.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 6 green onions, chopped
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 12-16 oz of crab meat (I used about 12 and it made 7 crab cakes)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp mayo
  • 1 tsp dry mustard
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 tsp old bay seasoning (if you have it? I didn’t)
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz of crackers, crushed (ritz or saltines. I used almost one full bag of saltines crushed up)
  • 1 cup panko or bread crumbs (I used bread crumbs, use more if you need it)

Step One:

Combine crabmeat, chopped green onions, egg, mayonnaise, dry mustard, crushed crackers, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, Old Bay seasoning, salt and pepper. Looks great right? Ha.

Image

Step Two:

Form into 1/2 inch thick patties. Coat the patties with bread crumbs. Some of them WERE just a little bit fragile. I put a little more mayo and saltine crackers in.

photo 31

Step Three:

Heat half a cup of oil up in a pan over medium high heat. Cook the cakes until golden brown on each side. Only one broke apart on me! Not too bad. Once golden take out of pan and serve hot. YUM. I whipped up a basic lemon aioli to go with (1/2 c mayo, half a lemon squeezed, some dill, chives and minced garlic).

photo 33photo 34

photo 35

Leave a Reply

