Homemade Fishstickzz

I’ve always wanted to try making my own. Finally did it! Found a good and simple recipe at Cleaneatingmag.com. I used 2 Tilapia filets for the fish. I also made a fresh tartar like dill sauce for on the side. I can’t do fish sticks without a sauce. Found that on Martha Stewart.  

DILL SAUCE:

  • 1/2 cup light mayo
  • 2 tsp horseradish
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp chopped parsley (I added in a heaping spoonful of dill too)

Step One:

In a small bowl, stir together mayonnaise, parsley (and dill), mustard, lemon juice, and horseradish; season with salt and pepper. Cover and refrigerate until ready to use.

FISHSTICKS:

Step One:

Dice up your fish as finely as possible.

unnamed-5unnamed-6

Step Two:

Crack your egg into a bowl and put the fish pieces into it. Then mix in your 1/2 cup of bread crumbs (use more if you need it to solidify a little more, or use a 2nd egg).

 unnamed-7

Step Three:

Form the “sticks” out of your mixture. Make it as solid as you can and then dip/roll them in your panko crumbs.

unnamed-8unnamed

Step Four:

Heat up about a tbsp of olive oil in your frying pan ( I cheated and added some butter too). Once fairly hot, put your sticks in and cook away to golden perfection. Honestly I don’t even know what time to tell you, I just cooked till they looked delicious. (Original recipe said about 4 minutes or until bottoms are golden brown.)

unnamed-1

Pretty easy right? I think some people are grossed out by any form of “fish stick”. But I’ve always loved them?! And making them homemade… to me… isn’t gross at all. Taste much better than the frozen variety. Threw some mash potatoes and gravy on the plate, a little (a lot) bit of the dill sauce and we were chowing down in no time.

unnamed-4unnamed-3

Leave a Reply

