Spinach & Mushroom Turkey Lasagna

I never make lasagna, but I looooove it; so I finally buckled down and did the damn thing. I opted for a semi-healthier version, if you can call it that. I found the recipe on Self.com  in which they call it “Tuscan Lasagna”. It turned out great. So great, that I couldn’t wait to get a piece and forgot to take a pic of the finished product. Doh! I promise though it was not only good, but pretty decent looking too. I tweaked the OG recipe a little bit.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 lb 90-percent-lean ground turkey (recipe called for 1 lb but I’d use more, I felt like it wasn’t enough for the layers)
  • 1 cup sliced bella mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup minced white onion (I probably used more than that)
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 tbsp dried basil
  • 1 tbsp Italian seasoning (used a little more, your own preference really )
  • 1 cup low-fat ricotta
  • 1 package (8 oz) whole-grain lasagna noodles
  • 16 oz low-sodium marinara sauce (I used a vodka spaghetti sauce cause it’s what I had in the fridge)
  • 1/2 cup part-skim fresh mozzarella (or more?…always more)
  • 2 cups thawed frozen spinach
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan

Step One:

Thaw your spinach and chop up your onion and mushrooms.

photo 1photo 2

Step Two:

Heat oven to 375°. Put your noodles in a pot of boiling water and get them softened up. In a pan on med-high cook your ground turkey, mushrooms, onion, salt, basil, Italian seasoning, until turkey is browned; transfer to a bowl and stir in ricotta.

photo 3photo 4

Step Three:

Once noodles are done, drain water and rinse with cold water. Spray an 8 x 11 dish and put a layer of noodles down, then meat mixture and then your sauce.

photo 2 copyphoto 3 copy

Step Four:

Sprinkle your mozzarella cheese on top and then repeat. You can repeat once or twice, depending on how many noodles you have to work with. When you get to your top layer of noodles, sprinkle on your spinach, meat mixture and some parmesan cheese. Layer with sauce and then one last layer of mozzarella.

photo 4 copyphoto 5 copy

Cover with foil and pop it in the oven for about 30 minutes. Easy right? Ugh, I’m bummed I seriously forgot to snap a pic of the finished product. But it was good. And it wasn’t as rich and cheesy as the normal lasagna that I adore, but it definitely did the trick!

Leave a Reply

